Follow Us!

2017 ASC Award Winners: ‘Lion’, ‘The Night Of’ Take Top Prizes

2017 ASC Award Winners: ‘Lion’, ‘The Night Of’ Take Top Prizes

The 2017 American Society of Cinematographers’ Awards (or ASC Awards) were held this weekend at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood, with the Oscar nominated Lion and hit HBO series The Night Of taking home prizes, along with Denzel Washington in a star studded evening.

The night’s winners include:

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot:

  • Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC, for Harley and the Davidsons “Amazing Machine”
  • Paul Cameron, ASC for Westworld “The Original”
  • Jim Denault, ASC for All The Way
  • Alex Disenhof for The Exorcist “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee”
  • Igor Martinovic for The Night Of “Subtle Beast” WINNER


Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television:

  • John Conroy for Penny Dreadful “The Day Tennyson Died”
  • David M. Dunlap for House of Cards “Chapter 45”
  • Anette Haellmigk for Game of Thrones “Book of the Stranger”
  • Neville Kidd for Outlander “Prestonpans”
  • Fabian Wagner, BSC for Game of Thrones “Battle of the Bastards” WINNER



  • Lol Crawley, BSC for Childhood Of A Leader
  • Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC for House Of Others WINNER
  • Ernesto Pardo for Tempestad
  • Juliette van Dormael for My Angel


Theatrical Release:

  • Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, Lion WINNER
  • James Laxton, Moonlight
  • Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC, Silence
  • Linus Sandgren, FSF, La La Land
  • Bradford Young, ASC, Arrival


31st ASC Awards Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Edward Lachman, ASC

Board of Governors Award:

  • Denzel Washington

Career Achievement in Television Award:

  • Ron Garcia, ASC

International Award:

  • Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC

Presidents Award:

  • Nancy Schreiber, ASC

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award Winners


  • Emmett Sutherland, Closer


  • Andrew Jeric, Prisoner

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award Winner


  • Colin F. Shepherd, Into the Microscope