in

ASC Master Class Online on Documentaries – December 4th-5th

The next online edition of the ASC’s ASC Master Class takes place December 4th-5th. This two-day seminar which will focus on Documentaries, is derived and adapted from our signature in-person Master Classes and will have live interactions and Q&A with some of the world’s top working cinematographers.

SIGN UP NOW

Confirmed ASC instructors*

Shana Hagan, ASC (Shakespeare Behind BarsThe Kingmaker, Welcome to Flatch )

Buddy Squires, ASC (American Experience, The Statue of Liberty, The Vietman War )

Joan Churchill, ASC (Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer, Lily Tomlin, Who Needs Sleep?)

Moderators

Chris Chomyn, ASC (Flying By, Hidden Moon, Sea of Dreams)

Suki Medencevic, ASC (Bal-Can-Can, The Berlin Project, The Great Water)

Quyen Tran, ASC (Maid, Palm Springs, Unbelievable)

The planned curriculum — including pre-recorded lighting demonstrations, selected film clips, live instruction and interactive discussion periods — is designed to last about 6 1/2 hours per day, with each session starting at 7.30 AM Pacific Daylight Time (10.30 AM New York; 3.30 PM London; 4.30 PM Berlin; 9:00 PM Mumbai; 11.30 PM Beijing).


The program will include:

  • Welcome address by ASC member describing the online Master Class format.
  • Presentations by ASC instructors followed by Q&A sessions, allowing students to address specific areas of interest or gain further detail.
  • Lighting demonstration – set up, shooting, editing and color grading – live-narrated by the on-set DP
  • Techniques for shooting interviews for documentaries.
  • Participation with ASC Ambassadors — members in addition to primary event instructors — in break-out rooms for discussions and daily social sessions.
  • Panel discussions with ASC members on select topics.

Registration is now open for students worldwide. All instruction will be in English and conducted via Zoom.

The price of participation in this two-day event is $700 USD, paid by Friday, December 3rd.

SIGN UP NOW

A complete, final day-to-day schedule will be emailed to participants on Thursday, December 2nd.


The in-person ASC Master Classes will resume when health conditions permit. Attendees at the online Master Class will also be given a 10% discount on a future in-person Master Class.


* While confirmed, all instructors will participate based on availability.

Written by Jake Fruia

WhatCulture YouTube Channels and Podcasts Powered by Blackmagic Design

DaVinci Resolve Studio Used for Remote Grading and Collaboration on Not Going Quietly Documentary