SOC Awards 2017: Michael Keaton To Receive Governor's Award, Noms For 'Stranger Things', 'Hacksaw Ridge' & More

The Society of Camera Operators have announced the nominees for the SOC Awards, with numerous hit movies and shows making the list, as well as the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards Governor’s Award Honoree, Michael Keaton.
Camera Operator of the Year – Film Nominees:

  • Stephen Campanelli, SOC – Sully
  • David Emmerichs, SOC – Nocturnal Animals
  • Mark Goellnicht, SOC – Hacksaw Ridge
  • Petr Hlinomaz – Manchester by the Sea
  • Jacques Jouffret, SOC – Deep Water Horizon
  • Ari Robbins, SOC – La La Land

Camera Operator of the Year – Television Nominees:

  • Andrew Mitchell, SOC – The People v. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story
  • Ben Semanoff, SOC & Bruce MacCallum, SOC – The Night of
  • Steven Matzinger & Greg Smith – Westworld
  • Bob Gorelick, SOC – Stranger Things
  • Aaron Medick, SOC – Mr. Robot
  • Sean Savage, Assoc BSC & ACO – Game of Thrones

Michael Keaton
Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

  • Governor’s Award – Michael Keaton
  • Camera Operator – Garrett Brown, SOC
  • Mobile Camera Platform Operator – Mike Moad
  • Camera Technician – Bobby Mancuso
  • Still Photographer – Phil Caruso

Technical Achievement Award Nominees

  • SHOTOVER: K1 6 Axis Stabilizer
  • That Cat: The Patented Silent Cat Camera Slider

The SOC Awards will take place on February 11th at 5:00pm. For more information visit

Written by Jake Fruia

Harvard Offers Free Digital Photography Course Online

RED Digital Partners With Coca-Cola & Regal Films For Revived Student Filmmaker Program